Arnold Friedmann Educators of Distinction

The IDEC Arnold Friedmann Educator of Distinction award, initiated in 2011, is presented to an IDEC member in recognition of significant, sustained, and distinguished contributions in interior design education. Arnold Friedmann is a founding member of IDEC and served as its President from 1964-1966. He helped organize the first IDEC conference in Philadelphia (1963), assisted in the development of IDEC’s Constitution and Bylaws, and presided over the Board that approved the proposal for a standard 4-year interior design curriculum. He also chaired the committee that produced “A Critical Study of Interior Design Education” (1968), which moved toward the development of curriculum standards in interior design accreditation. In 1978, he was inducted into the first class of the IDEC College of Fellows.
2018- Allison Carll-White. Ph.D., FIIDA, FIDEC, professor in the School of Interiors and an adjunct professor in the Department of Historic Preservation., University of Kentucky
2017- Anna Marshall-Baker, Ph.D., FIDEC, Professor Department Chair, Department of Interior Architecture, University of North Carolina Greensboro

2015 - Denise Guerin, Ph.D., FIDEC, FASID, FIFI, CID/MN, Professor Emeritus, Interior Design, University of Minnesota

2014 - Joy Dohr, Ph.D., FIDEC, Professor Emeritus, Design Studies, School of Human Ecology, University of Wisconsin-Madison

2013 - Dorothy Fowles, Ph.D., FIDEC, FASID, FIIDA, CID/IA, Professor Emeritus, College of Design, Department of Art and Design, Iowa State University

2012 - Buie Harwood, MFA, FIDEC, Hon. FASID, CID/VA, Professor Emeritus, Department of Interior Design, School of the Arts, Virginia Commonwealth University

2011 - Arnold Friedmann, Ph.D., FIDEC, Hon. ASID, Hon. FIIDA, and Professor Emeritus, Art Department, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Nomination Process Information

Nomination Form