Community Service Award


The IDEC Community Service Award recognizes and honors significant contribution of community service by an individual or group at a national, regional, and/or local level associated with the discipline of interior design. Service can include a variety of activities including but not limited to: making a difference to a community or special needs group, service-learning projects that build the awareness and value of interior design, efforts in the advancement and dedication to the promotion of IDEC, effort in the advancement of interior design education or design scholarship, or an activity demonstrating significant community engagement. Any IDEC member in good standing can nominate an individual or group for the IDEC Community Service Award. Candidates may self-nominate.


  • IDEC members and non-members are eligible for this award. Nominees can be from any part of the world.
  • Significance of the service
  • Contributions to the community
  • Impact of contributions on the community
  • Description as to how the service impacts public perception of interior design


Each nomination shall contain the following information:

  • Nomination Letter: The nominator must submit a nomination letter (not to exceed 400 words) that describes the community service and addresses how it meets one or more of the criteria. 
  • Support References: Submit the names of three references. Please note that only references from the top 3 finalists will be contacted to submit letters of support


The Awards Committee will review all submissions and present their final award nominees to the IDEC Board of Directors for approval and ratification. Award winners will be publicly celebrated at the annual conference and will be announced to the full international IDEC community in the spring of 2020.



  • 2019 - Suk-Kyung Kim and Linda Nubani, for their work on the MSU-DNR Partnership for Sustainable Park Planning and Design
  • 2018 - Shalini Agrawal and Chris Treggiari, California College of Arts, for the work on behalf of The Mission Neighborhood Resource Center.
  • 2017 - Dr. Dak Kopec, Boston Architectural College, for the work on behalf of Bay Cove Human Services
  • 2016 - Abimbola 'Aby' Asojo, University of Minnesota, Calming Space Project at Bruce Vento Elementary School in St. Paul, MN
  • 2014 - Lorella Di Cintio PhD, Ryerson University
  • 2013 - Amy Campos, California College of the Arts, Dolores Shelter Program and Community Food Bank Project.
  • 2012 - Hannah Mendoza, Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina Greensboro. Leading a global studio that has designed a school for a village in Ghana.
  • 2011 - Janetta McCoy, Washington State University, Study of rural towns’ economic crises with design options for revitalization
image widget
Join Login Renew Twitter Facebook LinkedIn