IDEC Announces 2020 Award Winners

The Interior Design Educators Council values the recognition of excellence in teaching, scholarship and service from both its own membership and the larger international design community. IDEC presented various awards based on documented excellence to students and industry professionals during its 2020 Annual Conference in Tulsa.


Council of Fellows InducteeRachel Pike, Retired - Wentworth Institute of Technology

Arnold Friedmann Educators of Distinction Award: Marjorie Kriebel, Professor Emerita - Drexel University

Presidential Award: 

  • Ann Ragan, Lecturer - North Dakota State University
  • Ellen Fisher, Dean and Vice-President of Academic Affairs - New York School of Interior Design
  • Joan Dickinson, Professor - Radford University
  • Marsha Cuddeback, Associate Professor - Louisiana State University
  • Rene King, Assistant Professor - Columbia College
  • Sally Ann Swearingen, Associate Professor - Stephen F. Austin University 
  • Stephanie Sickler, Assistant Professor and Foundations Coordinator - Florida State University
  • Kirsten Lew, Associate Account Executive - IDEC

Book AwardTamie Glass from University of Texas at Austin for Prompt: Socially Engaging Objects and Environments.

Community Service AwardTravis Hicks, Associate Professor - University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Media Award: Kristi Gaines, Charles Klein, Lori Guerrero, Sahand Abbasi Stephanie Zollinger from Texas Tech University for OLE! Inspector Guide.

Partners in Education AwardAutodesk Technology Centers

Scholarship Excellence AwardMichelle Pearson, Assistant Professor - Texas Tech University

Teaching Excellence AwardNerea Feliz, Assistant Professor - University of Texas at Austin

IIDA 2019 Educator Diversity Award: Jack Travis, Adjunct Professor - Fashion Institute of Technology, Pratt Institute, School of Visual Arts, and New York School of Interior Design.

JID Excellence in ScholarshipStephanie Liddicoat - University of Melbourne, Australia for Spirituality in Therapeutic Spaces: Perceptions of Spatiality, Trace, and Past Rituals Manifesting Present Occupation.

JID Outstanding Reviewer of the Year AwardRonn Daniel Associate Professor - Kent State University


Student Design Competition:

  • First Place Winner - Undergraduate
    Angela Dietz, Maeley McHale, and Valerie Eckert
    Faculty Sponsors: Tina Patel, Bridget Tipton, and Julia Morris
    Kent State University
  • Second Place Winner - Undergraduate
    Julia King, Hanna Olsson, and Alessandra Shorten
    Faculty Sponsors: Elif Tural and John Dorlini
    Virginia Tech
    The Line
  • Third Place Winner - Undergraduate
    Ashley Michalak and Joye Gaba
    Faculty Sponsor: Erica Bartels
    Anderson University
    Connect Basic Needs Facility
  • Honorable Mention - Undergraduate
    Kelly Wu and Lauren Binstead
    Faculty Sponsors: Tiia Manson, Sharon Hollingsworth, June Fong, and Manon Pace
    British Columbia Institute of Technology
    Self Circle
  • First Place Winner - Graduate Studio
    Julia Roath and Amicia Nametka
    Faculty Sponsor: Solmaz Kive
    University of Oregon
image widget
Join Login Renew Twitter Facebook LinkedIn