Book Award

Award(s) are given for recognition of the content of an outstanding book that exhibits excellence in addressing issues of the discipline of interior design including practice, research, and education. Books include such products as textbooks, trade books (i.e., written for designers or public), popular press books (written for public audience), etc. Any IDEC member in good standing can nominate an individual or entity for the IDEC Book Award.


  • Author(s) may be from anywhere in the world
  • Author(s) do not need to be IDEC members
  • Publisher-nominated, self-nominated, or other nominated 
  • Published within the last five years.


  • Content addresses issues of relevance to interior design practice, scholarship, education, or engagement
  • Potential for significant impact on interior design profession
  • Comprehensive nature of the coverage
  • Visual impact, e.g., organization, images and interactivity
  • Contribution to interior design education, or original research, or prior scholarship


  • Documentation: If the submission is available in hard copy only (e.g., a printed book), submit five copies to IDEC Headquarters. If the nominee’s is available online (e.g., a digital book), submit the URL and one electronic copy of significant portions of the book with the nomination. If no URL exists (e.g., digital presentation), submit one electronic copy of the entire book with the nomination.
  • Support References: Submit the names of three references. References will be asked to complete an online form of support that asks for rankings for each of the criteria. Additionally they will be able to submit comments (not to exceed 500 words) to  help provide direct information regarding the stated criteria.


The Awards Committee will review all submissions and present their final award nominees to the IDEC Board of Directors for approval and ratification. Award winners will be publicly celebrated at the annual conference and will be announced to the full international IDEC community in the spring of 2018.